Suspension of Disbelief

Protocol 101

leave a comment »

The Curator Part 2.

 

**********

 

Protocol is the customs and regulations dealing with diplomatic formality, precedence, and etiquette. It’s a mandatory thing you have to learn and do every time you come across or approach someone who has the same stature as The Queen or The President.

 

**********

 

Just a day later, after I flew back from KL, I got a heads-up from work that I will be working with The Curator again. I received his number, and my Boss, persistently reminded me to bug The Curator for his script.

 

It was a move I’m so afraid to make. The past came flashing through my head, from the very first time I saw him to the last time we exchanged messages. It was a mixture of dread, excitement and hope. I didn’t know if sending him a message, work-related or no, a good idea or what. But I have to do it.

 

**********

 

Then the day came. He went to the office to finish his script and prepare for the show.

 

I’m not sure if I’m sedated the whole time I was with him or I just kept on making an excuse just to be close to him. It was ecstatic.

 

The Curator flashed several signs. I caught most of it but up until now I still haven’t deciphered what he meant, again, I received mixed-messages.

 

**********

 

I couldn’t help but wonder (again), am I willing to jump back to the old days wherein I hope and wait for something I really want to happen even after learning the great deal of odds I have to surpass to accomplish them?

 

**********

 

After the show, I wanted so bad to ask The Curator out; to catch up on things since our last conversation months and months’ back, to flirt with him a little more, and something more, maybe. But I crippled.

 

I went to the garden of our office and lighted my 8th cigarette for the day. A great part of me wanted to go back to the studio and catch him before he leaves the office, but part of me begs to hold on still where I was standing.

 

And then, I received a call from The Curator.

 

….

 

“Where are you? I have been going around the office looking for you… I just left your office… I’m on my way now to meet your boss for a dinner.”

 

I wanted to die as his words slowly entered my system. It could have been… It might have been… Then he said:

 

“Patrick, take good care of yourself. Just call me anytime for anything…”

 

After hearing him say those words, I slowly got myself back to reality. I flirted back saying, “Seriously, for anything?” He answered, “Yeah”, with a naughty laugh.

 

….

 

**********

 

I had a choice that night, I could have went back to the studio and face reality with The Curator without any distractions and enjoy his company, but I chose to stay away.

 

Was I wrong in making that choice, or am I just playing everything safe knowing what consequences I will have to face after making a move?

 

I still have one more choice to make for – The Curator; I can call him and updated him about the status of his talent fee and continue the flirting with him, or I can just let our HR department do the legwork for everything.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

e-mail: patrick.king.pascual@gmail.com

.

Written by Patrick King Pascual

January 15, 2009 at 5:15 pm

Leave a Reply

