Suspension of Disbelief

“Shine”: a tribute to Filipino entrepreneurs who believe in the Philippines

with one comment

Published in Yahoo Philippines and VERA Files | 17 October 2011



While countless Filipinos still believe in the American dream, the big names in local entrepreneurship have proven that dreams can come true even here at home.

“I have confidence in the countless opportunities that is available in the country,” Erramon I. Aboitiz, president and chief executive officer (CEO) of Aboitiz Power Corp., said

Aboitiz, who was recently named Entrepreneur of the Year Philippines 2011, believes the Philippines is a great place for up and coming entrepreneurs.

“People ask me why not go abroad; I said what for?” he related. “We have a lot of opportunities here, if we just look hard, we can make it big in the Philippines.”

Aboitiz also won the Master Entrepreneur Award 2011, a category award that is given to the entrepreneur who best represents a great deal of management in finance, marketing, human resources and sales.

He will represent the Philippines in the World Entrepreneur of the Year Awards in Monaco in 2012.

His success in transforming Aboitiz Power Corp. from a regional power distributor into a national power industry player, with generation and distribution assets throughout the country made him a run-away winner of this year’s award.

Aboitiz was chosen for embodying the entrepreneurial values of leadership, strong vision, innovation and strong financial expertise and performance.

The Entrepreneur of the Year program was founded and produced by Ernst & Young in 1986 in the United States. SGV Foundation, Inc. established it in 2003 in the Philippines.

For eight years now, Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year has given awards to recognize exceptional entrepreneurs who, collectively and individually, build and lead successful, growing and dynamic businesses that drive the Philippine economy, and inspire other aspiring entrepreneurs to follow their leadership, vision, success, and achievements.

The theme for this year’s search is “Shine,” in recognition of Filipino entrepreneurs who shine and inspire other entrepreneurs with their commitment to uplift their communities, their people and eventually the country.

This year’s Social Entrepreneur Award went to Anna Meloto-Wilk and Camillie D. Meloto, president and creative director of Gandang Kalikasan, Inc., respectively, for applying practical and innovative and market-oriented approach to their business and pushing social change for the poor with livelihood projects.

Reynaldo T. Paulino, managing director of Kraftika Filipina, won the Small Business Entrepreneur Award. He best demonstrated management excellence in his business with an asset less than 100 million pesos. He hopes to make Kraftika Filipina one of the best native fashion producer.

The Woman Entrepreneur Award was given to Maria Fe P. Agudo, president and CEO of Hyundai Asia Resources, Inc. Her outstanding leadership and community development was recognized in a male-dominated industry. She’s involved in Gawad Kalinga Center for Social Innovation Program that guides upcoming social entrepreneurs.

Ferdinand Y. Marañon, president and CEO of Sagrex Corporation, bagged the Emerging Entrepreneur Award. Marañon exemplifies the start-up process and plans to make the Philippines the world’s biggest source of cardaba bananas.

Bienvenido V. Tantoco III, president of Rustan’s Supercenter, Inc., was given the Innovation Entrepreneur Award. He demonstrated an innovative approach and business solution that resulted in turning around his company, which previously had huge debts, and making it grow.

Raul Anthony D. Concepcion, president and CEO of Concepcion Durables Inc., got the Business Excellence Award for showing an exceptionally consistent and systematic application of total quality management principles.

“The quality of this year’s finalists has shone through in the work they have done and they have been deemed role models in their respective industries,” SGV Foundation Inc. Chairman  Cirilio P. Noel said.

The other finalists were: Francisco M. Bernardo III, president and founder of LET’S GO Foundation; Bernard Faustino M. Dy, school vice president of University of Perpetual Help System; Prudencio S. Garcia, president of Mekeni Food Corporation; Jaime Enrique Y. Gonzalez, CEO of IPVG Corp.; Pacita U. Juan, marketing director of Earth Life Store Supply, Inc.; Ronnel C. Rivera, president of Gensan Shipyard & Machine Works, Inc.; Genevieve Ledesma-Tan, chief executive mentor of Southville International School and Colleges; Winston S. Uy, president of Universal Leaf Philippines, Inc.; and Francis Glenn L. Yu, president and CEO of SEAOIL Philippines, Inc.

Past winners of the Entrepreneur of the Year Philippines were: Tony Tan Caktiong, president and CEO of Jollibee Foods Corporation, Entrepreneur of the Year Philippines 2003 & World Entrepreneur of the Year 2004; Socorro Cancio-Ramos, founder of National Bookstore, Entrepreneur of the Year Philippines 2004; Lance Y. Gokongwei, president and CEO of Cebu Air Inc., Entrepreneur of the Year Philippines 2005; Senen C. Bacani, chairman and president of La Frutera Inc., Entrepreneur of the Year Philippines 2006; Wilfred Steven Uytengsu, Jr., president and CEO of Alaska Milk Corporation, Entrepreneur of the Year 2007; Ambassador Jesus P. Tambunting, chairman and president of Planters Development Bank, Entrepreneur of the Year Philippines 2009; and Tennyson G. Chen, president of Bounty Fresh Food Inc., Entrepreneur of the Year Philippines 2010.


(VERA Files is put out by veteran journalists taking a deeper look at current issues. Vera is Latin for “true.”)


One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very informative post, I just like the way you write out this post. Just bookmarked your blog and will visit at least once a week.

    Please do feel free to email me if you have some exclusive information on this topic.



    October 22, 2011 at 6:18 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: